computer laptop with someone typing

Submit your writing for the English Prizes 2017 competition to win monetary awards

The Department of English is holding its annual English Prizes competition, which offers monetary awards to students.

These awards are open to all students, with a variety of categories for essays, prose, poetry and more.

The deadline to enter the competition is Monday, Feb. 27, at noon. Students must submit a hard copy of their work without their name on the entry to Guilford House, Room 106B. They also must fill out the entry form (available in Guilford House, Room 106B) and email their entry as a Word document attachment to

Students may receive no more than $100 in prize money without reduction of financial aid, subject to federal and state regulations.

The awards are listed below.

For first-year essayists

The Karl Lemmerman Prize is for the best essay written by a first-year student.

For advanced essayists

The Holden Prize is for the best essay by a sophomore, junior or senior student.

For poets

The Finley Foster and Emily Hills Prizes are for the best poem or group of three poems by an undergraduate student.

The Helen B. Sharnoff Prize is for the best formal poem or group of three formal poems by an undergraduate student. Formal poems are those written in pre-determined forms, such asabecedarian, cinquain, ghazal, pantoum, sestina, sonnet, terza rima, villanelle, etc.

For prose writers

The Edith Garber Krotinger Prize is for the best creative writing other than poetry by an undergraduate student.

The Eleanor Leuser Award is for outstanding writing for or about children by an undergraduate student enrolled in a creative writing course at the university.

For women writers

The Emily M. Hills Award is for the best poem or essay written by an undergraduate woman in the College of Arts and Sciences.

For graduate students

The Timothy Calhoun Memorial Prize for Poetry is for the best poem or group of three poems by a graduate student in the Department of English.