Physics’ Eric Baer receives American Physical Society’s Fowler Award

Eric Baer CWRUEric Baer, Distinguished University Professor and the Herbert Henry Dow Professor of Science and Engineering, accepted the William Fowler Award for Distinguished Research in Physics from the Ohio-Region Section of the American Physical Society at the organization’s awards dinner on Friday, Oct. 16.

The William Fowler Award honors the society’s members who have done outstanding research in the field, and there have been just 12 recipients since the award’s inception 25 years ago.

The award is named after professor William Fowler, who received the Nobel Prize in Physics in 1983 for his work on stellar nucleosynthesis.