Nominate your mentor for the J. Bruce Jackson, MD, Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Mentoring

Online nominations are now being accepted for the 2013 J. Bruce Jackson, MD, Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Mentoring.

The Jackson Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Mentoring recognizes the positive impact Case Western Reserve University faculty and staff members have on the lives of students. It was established by J. Bruce Jackson (ADL ’52) in honor of Carl F. Wittke, who served as an adviser, mentor and friend to Jackson when he was an undergraduate student at Western Reserve University.

A Jackson Award Selection Committee, composed of current undergraduate students, an emeritus faculty member and a CWRU alumni member, makes the selection each year. The selection committee seeks to recognizes faculty and staff members who have guided a student in their academic and career paths; fostered the student’s long-term personal development; challenged the student to reflect, explore and grow as an individual; and supported and/or facilitated the student’s goals and life choices.

All nominees will be celebrated at the Wittke/Jackson Reception at the president’s house on April 1. The two winners will be honored during commencement.

For more about the Jackson Award and to see previous winners, visit