Apply for annual Department of English prize competition

The Department of English is offering more than $1,500 in awards through its annual prize competition. The deadline to apply for these awards is Monday, March 15, at noon.

To submit the entry send an email with a Word attachment to Your name should not appear on the contest entry. In the body of the email, mention what award your entry is for and include your name, student ID number and local phone number. Submissions cannot be duplicated from one prize to another.

Students may receive no more than $100 in prize money without reduction of financial aid, subject to federal and state regulations.

The following awards will be offered.

For first-year essayists

The Karl Lemmerman Prize is for the best essay written by a first year student.

For advanced essayists

The Holden Prize is for the best essay by a sophomore, junior or senior student.

For poets

The Finley Foster and Emily Hills Prizes are for the best poem or group (three) of poems by an undergraduate student.

The Helen B. Sharnoff Prize for the best formal poem or group (three) of formal poems by an undergraduate student. Formal poems are those written in pre-determined forms: e.g., abecedarian, cinquain, ghazal, pantoum, sestina, sonnet, terza rima, villanelle, etc.

For prose writers

The Edith Garber Krotinger Prize is for the best creative writing other than poetry by an undergraduate student.

The Eleanor Leuser Award is for outstanding writing for or about children by an undergraduate student enrolled in a creative writing course at the university.

For women writers

The Emily M. Hills Award is for the best poem or essay written by an undergraduate woman at the College of Arts and Sciences.

For graduate students

The Timothy Calhoun Memorial Prize for Poetry is for the best poem or group of poems (three) by a graduate student in the Department of English.