Winners of first HackCWRU event announced

Screen-Shot-2014-04-07-at-9.36.57-PMFor the first HackCWRU on March 28 and 29, 85 students from six schools took over Nord Hall for 24 hours to finish 19 projects. Throughout the weekend, students were invited to program or build any project in any language.

The winners were:

  • Zach Hudson: $1,000 grand prize from Flashstarts for modifying a swipe access lock to allow him entry through his phone.
  • Kailey Shara: $750 Dr. Garverick Memorial Award for her music-controlled laser light show, Future Harmony.
  • Suraj Srinivasan (Albion Middle School) and Phillip Kangs: a Google Nexus 7 for their humanitarian Twitter web crawler, Conflict Nations.
  • Stephen Rodriguez and Rebecca Frederick: iPad Mini for their app that automatically adjusts a cell phone’s ringer volume.
  • Joshua Schwarz, Jacob Kupas, Justin White and Jack Edelbrock: XBox One for their Oculus Rift/Kinect ski game, OcuSkinect.

Submissions can be viewed on HackCWRU’s website,