Case Western Reserve University sign

University guidance regarding travel ban ruling

On Monday, the U.S. Supreme Court reinstated parts of the White House’s travel ban, but maintained exceptions for individuals with a credible claim of a relationship with a person or entity in the U.S.

As this time, the travel ban applies to foreign nationals—people who are not naturalized citizens—from six countries: Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen.

In simplest terms, the court’s ruling means that foreign nationals must be able to demonstrate genuine familial relationships with individuals in the U.S. or formal and documented relationships with organizations—including universities—in this country.

As always, Case Western Reserve continues to support and value our international students, staff and faculty. While we are pleased that the justices recognized the “concrete hardship” involved in barring entry of those with clear reasons to enter the country, we still are assessing the decision’s legal and practical effects. In this context, we continue to recommend that members of our community from one of the six affected countries refrain from travel outside the U.S.

The Center for International Affairs encourages any member of the university community with questions involving international students to email or visit its offices in Room 143 of Tomlinson Hall. Those with questions regarding international faculty or staff should email or call 216.368.4289.

We will provide updates at as more information becomes available.