Headshots of CWRU medicine professors Mukesh Jain and Stanley Hazen

Two School of Medicine faculty members elected to National Academy of Medicine

Stanley Hazen, professor in the Department of Molecular Medicine at Cleveland Clinic Lerner College of Medicine at Case Western Reserve University, and Mukesh K. Jain, professor in the Department of Medicine at Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine, have been elected to the National Academy of Medicine, one of the nation’s most esteemed societies for health and medicine.

National Academy of Medicine membership “recognizes individuals who have demonstrated outstanding professional achievement and commitment to service.”

“On behalf of everyone at Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine, I heartily congratulate Dr. Hazen and Dr. Jain on achieving this extraordinary honor,” said Pamela B. Davis, dean of the School of Medicine and senior vice president for medical affairs at Case Western Reserve University. “Recognition by such a distinguished institution is compelling testimony, by any standard, to the high level of their accomplishments.”

Hazen and Jain are among 70 new members and nine foreign associates of the 2016 class of the Academy, formerly the Institute of Medicine. They join 10 other current Case Western Reserve faculty members previously elected:

  • James M. Anderson, professor of pathology and 1976 School of Medicine alumnus;
  • Walter F. Boron, chair of the Department of Physiology and Biophysics, and the David and Inez Myers/Antonio Scarpa, M.D., Ph.D., Professor of Physiology;
  • John Chae, chair of the Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation;
  • Delos Cosgrove, professor of surgery and CEO of the Cleveland Clinic;
  • Dean Davis, also the Arline H. and Curtis F. Garvin, M.D., Research Professor;
  • Charis Eng, professor of genetics;
  • Edgar Jackson Jr., clinical professor of medicine and 1966 School of Medicine alumnus;
  • Duncan Neuhauser, the Charles Elton Blanchard Professor of Health Management;
  • Kurt Stange, the Gertrude Donnelly Hess, M.D., Professor of Oncology Research; and
  • George R. Stark, professor of genetics.

Stanley Hazen

headshot of CWRU/Lerner College faculty Stanley HazenHazen’s research has contributed to new understandings of inflammation in cardiovascular disease and the development of new diagnostic and treatment tools. He and colleagues have received patents for devices and tests that identify patients at increased risk for cardiovascular disease and for diagnosing asthma and treating inflammation and associated complications.

Among his awards are election to the American Society for Clinical Investigation and the American Association of Physicians. Hazen also is an elected fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. He serves on multiple editorial boards and has received numerous NIH grants.

Hazen received his MD from the Washington University School of Medicine and completed his residency in internal medicine at Barnes-Jewish Hospital in St. Louis, where he also completed a fellowship in endocrinology.

Mukesh Jain

mukesh-jain-fullJain is recognized for discovering essential roles for the gene family Krüppel-like factors (KLFs) in immunity, metabolism and cardiovascular biology. He expanded his work from cell and molecular studies to experimental studies in animals and correlative studies in humans. As a result, KLFs are now viewed as potentially important targets for a broad spectrum of illnesses including cardiovascular disease, inflammatory disorders and obesity/diabetes.

Jain has been elected to the Association of American Physicians and Association of University Cardiologists and is past president of the American Society for Clinical Investigation. He is a member of the American Heart Association’s Advancement of Science and Basic Science Council, serves on many editorial boards and has received numerous NIH grants.

Jain earned his MD from the University of Buffalo School of Medicine and completed his residency in internal medicine at the Beth Israel Hospital in Boston and a cardiovascular medicine fellowship at Brigham & Women’s Hospital, Harvard Medical School.

The National Academy of Medicine is announcing its new members today in conjunction with its annual meeting in Washington, D.C.