Six researchers receive CTSC pilot awards

Six faculty members and researchers were awarded the 2013 Clinical & Translational Science Collaborative’s annual pilot awards.

The following individuals and their projects were awarded:

  • Li Li: “Human Beta-Defensin-3 (hBD-3): A Novel Biomarker for Early Colon Neoplasia”
  • Matthew Cooney: “Evaluation of alpha-methylacyl-CoA racemase (AMACR) as a Non-Invasive Diagnostic Biomarker for Prostate Cancer”
  • Micheala Aldred: “New therapeutic approaches in Pulmonary Arterial Hypertension”
  • Ann Williams: “Diabetes SystemCHANGE(TM): Community-based peer support for people with diabetes”
  • John Kirwan: “Unlocking the Mechanisms of Type 2 Diabetes Remission After Gastric Bypass: Relationship Between Stimulus Secretion Coupling Mechanism, Beta Cell Morphology, and Incretin Secretion”
  • Efstathios Karathanasis: “Early Detection of Micrometastasis Using a Nanochain and MRI”

For more information on CTSC Pilots, email or