exterior of Alumni House

Six CWRU alumni to be honored with the 2016 Alumni Association Awards

The Alumni Association of Case Western Reserve University will honor six distinguished alumni during this year’s Homecoming Luncheon at Tinkham Veale University Center’s Kelvin and Eleanor Smith Foundation Grand Ballroom at noon on Friday, Oct. 14. All recipients will be in attendance to receive their awards.

This year’s awards and recipients are:

Distinguished Alumni Award

Fred Gray

Recognizing alumni who have made outstanding contributions to their profession or field of interest and, over the course of a lifetime, brought benefit to their community and humanity, and honor to the university, this award is the highest honor bestowed by the Alumni Association.

Fred Gray, JD (LAW ’54, HON ’92): One of the nation’s most distinguished civil rights lawyers, Gray played significant roles in four landmark Supreme Court decisions and represented Rosa Parks and Martin Luther King Jr. An emeritus trustee of the university, Gray remains in full‐time practice at his law firm.

Morton Mandel

Morton Mandel (HON ’07, CWR ’13): This self-made billionaire and philanthropist took 74 years to complete his undergraduate degree from Case Western Reserve University—Mandel persevered after pausing his education to serve in the U.S. Army during World War II and build a global enterprise with his brothers. An emeritus trustee of the university, Mandel’s lifelong passion for acquiring and sharing knowledge continues to inspire.

Professional Achievement Award

Tshilidzi Marwala

This award recognizes outstanding alumni of Case Western Reserve University who have achieved exceptional accomplishment in their career and brought distinction to themselves and the university through their work and leadership in their professional community.

Tshilidzi Marwala (CWR ’95): Deputy vice chancellor of research and innovation at the University of Johannesburg and well known throughout South Africa for leading delegations to the South African parliament, Marwala has been published in The Economist, New Scientist and Time magazines.

Newton D. Baker Distinguished Service Award

Donald Foster

The award honors the legacy of Cleveland’s Newton D. Baker, who urged everyone he met to volunteer time, talent and service to those in need. Baker was the 37th mayor of Cleveland, the Secretary of War under President Woodrow Wilson and a major supporter of Cleveland College.

Donald Foster (ADL ’50): Foster is being honored for his generous, tireless years of commitment to the university and The Village Network (formerly Boys’ Village) in Smithville, Ohio, a statewide organization serving troubled children and their families.

Daniel T. Clancy Alumni Service Award

Nancy Fink

Honoring the contributions of Dan Clancy, the Alumni Association’s executive director emeritus, to the alumni of Case Western Reserve University, this award recognizes outstanding alumni who have been active in alumni affairs for at least 15 years and have made significant contributions to The Alumni Association of Case Western Reserve University and its programs.

Nancy Fink (WRC ’73): Active in the Washington, D.C./Baltimore Chapter, Fink is a former board president of The Alumni Association, an active emerita board member and an admission ambassador, helping to recruit the next generation of Case Western Reserve students.

Young Alumni Award

Aleksandra V. Rachitskaya

The award recognizes outstanding alumni of Case Western Reserve University who, at age 35 years old or younger, have demonstrated excellence in their professional field and/or service to their community, the public or humanity, embodying the values, spirit and pride of Case Western Reserve.

Aleksandra V. Rachitskaya (MED ’08): A physician-scientist at Cleveland Clinic Cole Eye Institute and a member of one of the few surgical teams in the nation performing an eye implant that gives sight to those who have lost their vision, Rachitskaya has won numerous fellowships, including the Howard Hughes Medical Institute-National Institutes of Health Research Scholars program.

About the Awards

Anyone can nominate a deserving alumni for an award bestowed by The Alumni Association of Case Western Reserve University. The deadline for next year’s award nominations is May 30. Visit case.edu/alumni/about/awards to learn more and nominate an alumnus.