Recognize faculty members by nominating them for 2016 Hovorka Prize

Nominations for the 2016 Frank and Dorothy Humel Hovorka Prize are open now.

Established in 1994 by Dorothy Hovorka, the award recognizes exceptional achievement by an active or emeritus member of the faculty who had made exceptional achievements in teaching, research and scholarly service that have benefitted the community, the nation and the world.

Dorothy Hovorka is a leader in the arts and community affairs and an honorary member of the University’s Board of Trustees. Her late husband, Frank Hovorka, was a distinguished member of the faculty in the Department of Chemistry for many years.

Download the nomination form.

The prize will be awarded during commencement ceremonies in May.

Nominations are due March 15 and should be sent to Lois Langell at Submissions should include a two- to three-page nomination letter and the nominee’s CV. Nominations remain active for two years. The recipient will be selected on the recommendation of a committee of previous recipients.