President Barbara R. Snyder today announced that Biology Professor Roy Ritzmann and Vice President for Research Suzanne Rivera will co-chair the committee leading the search for Case Western Reserve’s next provost.

Ritzmann, a faculty member since 1977 and former Faculty Senate chair, is an accomplished researcher whose work has been featured widely in peer-reviewed journals, the popular press, and television outlets like Animal Planet and Science Channel.

Rivera came to the university in 2011 and was named vice president for research in 2014. She has more than two decades of experience in research administration and today is responsible for an operation managing more than $300 million in sponsored research grants each year. She is also an assistant professor of bioethics and pediatrics.

“Roy and Sue bring a breadth of knowledge and experience that will prove immensely valuable during this search process,” President Snyder said. “I deeply appreciate their willingness to lead this committee as it conducts vital work on the university’s behalf.”

The committee’s other members are:

  • Jonathan Adler, the Johan Verheij Memorial Professor of Law and director of the law school’s Center for Business Law and Regulation;
  • Scott Cowen, university trustee, president of Tulane University for 16 years, member of the Case Western Reserve faculty for 23 years, including 14 as dean of the Weatherhead School of Management;
  • Ron Hickman, associate professor of nursing, acute care nurse practitioner, and triple CWRU alumnus;
  • Dan Lacks, C. Benson Branch Professor of Chemical Engineering and chair of the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering;
  • Marilyn Mobley, vice president for inclusion, diversity and equal opportunity, professor of English and an alumna;
  • Suchitra Nelson, professor in the Department of Community Dentistry, assistant dean of clinical and translational research at the School of Dental Medicine, and a triple CWRU alumna;
  • Ivy Petsinger, fourth-year chemical engineering major and president of Undergraduate Student Government;
  • Gary Previts, Distinguished University Professor, the E. Mandell De Windt Professor of Leadership and Enterprise Development, and professor of accountancy;
  • Dana Prince, assistant professor, Jack, Joseph and Morton Mandel School of Applied Social Sciences;
  • JC Scharf-Deering, director for conflicts of interest in the Office of Research Compliance and chair of the Staff Advisory Council;
  • Rita Tohme, fifth-year PhD student in molecular medicine and chair of the Graduate Student Council; and
  • Tony Wynshaw-Boris, professor and chair of the Department of Genetics and Genome Sciences and a double CWRU alumnus.

“These committee members come from across the campus, and each brings unique perspective and understanding of Case Western Reserve at this time in its history,” President Snyder said. “They all are committed to a thorough and thoughtful process, and I have great confidence that they will do an exceptional job in helping us find an outstanding academic leader to serve as the university’s next provost.”

The committee soon will hold campus meetings to hear more from the community regarding the university’s opportunities and needs—as well as the qualities people hope to see in the individual ultimately appointed. These sessions will be announced in The Daily as soon as they are scheduled.

The Spencer Stuart search firm is assisting the university in this process.