Physics Professors Harsh Mathur and Giuseppe Strangi earn fellowship to prestigious physics societies

Case Western Reserve University Department of Physics Professors Harsh Mathur and Giuseppe Strangi were recently elected fellows to two of the leading physics societies in the United States and throughout the world.

Photo of Harsh Mathur
Harsh Mathur

The American Physical Society (APS) elected Mathur a fellow for his “leadership in demonstrating the universality of physics through ground-breaking research across the discipline, and through public outreach showing the power of theoretical physics to introduce innovation in art history, linguistics, and epidemiology.”

The APS fellowship recognizes members of the society who have made advances in physics through original research and publication or made significant contributions to the teaching or applications of physics or to the activities of the society. Mathur is the 28th APS fellow from Case Western Reserve since 1921, when the fellowship program started.

Mathur is a theoretical physicist with an unusually broad research program that spans condensed matter physics, cosmology and interdisciplinary science. He is active in public outreach and cross-campus collaboration.

The Optical Society of America (OSA) announced Strangi’s election as an OSA 2021 fellow for his “contributions to the advancement of optical biosensors based on plasmon polaritons and for promoting connections between nanophotonics and life sciences.”

Photo of Giuseppe Strangi

Strangi, an Ohio Research Scholar with a secondary appointment in general medical sciences at Case Comprehensive Cancer Center, joins OSA fellows elected for advancing optics and photonics through distinguished contributions to education, research, engineering, business and society.

He is one of 118 members from 24 countries elected to the society’s 2021 fellow class. The number of OSA fellows is limited to no more than 10 percent of the total OSA membership and the number elected each year is limited to approximately 0.5% of the current membership total.

“Both fellowships are incredible honors,” said Department of Physics Co-chair Glenn Starkman, noting that the designations demonstrate recognition by professional peers. “We are thrilled, but unsurprised, that the outstanding scientific contributions of Profs. Mathur and Strangi are recognized not just by their colleagues here at CWRU, but across the country and around the world.”