Nominees announced for Wittke, Jackson awards; reception held tonight

The nominees have been announced for the Carl F. Wittke Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching and the J. Bruce Jackson, MD, Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Mentoring. This year, 52 faculty members or instructors were nominated for the Wittke Award, while 25 faculty and staff members were nominated for the Jackson Award.

All of the nominees will be honored at a reception tonight, hosted by President Barbara R. Snyder at Harcourt House. Bruce Jackson (ADL ’52) and his wife Nancy also will attend the reception. Through his generosity, the Jackson Award for Undergraduate Mentoring was created in 2003 to honor Jackson’s mentor, Carl Wittke. The Wittke Award has been presented since 1971,

This year’s winners will be selected in April and honored during commencement.

For more information, visit

2012 Carl F. Wittke Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Nominees
(The names in bold are nominated for both awards.)

Amy Absher, history
Catherine Albers, theater
Eileen Anderson-Fye, anthropology
Hope Barkoukis, nutrition
Paul Barnhart, mechanical and aerospace engineering
Rebecca Benard, biology
Jeremy Bendik-Keymer, philosophy
John Blackwell, macromolecular science and engineering
Karen Braun, accountancy
Christopher Butler, mathematics
Gabriella Celeste, Schubert Center for Child Studies
Hillel Chiel, biology
Barbara Clemenson, accountancy
Yoram Daon, modern languages and literature
William Deal, religious studies
Heath Demaree, psychological sciences
Don Feke, chemical engineering
Paul FitzGibbon, statistics
Matthew Garrett, music
Dario Gasparini, civil engineering
Elina Gertsman, art history
Noelle Giuffrida, art history and art
Brian Gran, sociology
Stephanie Harris, nutrition
Ramez Islambouli, modern languages
Anthony Jack, cognitive science
Paul Jaussen, English
Aaron Jennings, civil engineering
Michael Kenney, chemistry

James Kuzner, English
Alan Levine, pharmacology
Clara Lipszyc-Arroyo, modern languages and literature
Ica Manas-Zloczower, macromolecular science and engineering
Michele Meckfessel, accountancy
Jacqueline Nanfito, modern languages and literature

Fabienne Pizot-Haymore, modern languages
Alan Rocke, history
Joshua Roiland, SAGES
Kyra Rothenberg, communication sciences

Ramanathan Sankaran, chemical engineering
David Schiraldi, macromolecular science and engineering
Anirban Sen Gupta, biomedical engineering

Renee Sentilles, history
Scott Simpson, anatomy
Kay Sisk, nutrition
Walt Sokira, marketing
Rekha Srinivasan, chemistry
James Swain, nutrition
Mark Taylor, accountancy
Dustin Tyler, biomedical engineering
Athena Vrettos, English
Guo-Qiang Zhang, electrical engineering and computer science

2012 Jackson Award Nominees
Gurkan Bebek, Center for Proteomics and Bioinformatics
Stephen Begley, Housing, Residence Life and Greek Life
Florin Berindeanu, classics
Anne Birnbaum, pediatrics
Marc Buchner, electrical engineering and computer science
Jean Burns, biology
Stephanie Corbett, sustainability
Matthew Englander, physical education and athletics
Joseph Gutowski, Student Activities and Leadership
Marcella Hovancsek, nursing
Casey Jordan, Greek Life
Malcolm Kenney, chemistry
Michael Kenney, chemistry
Kate Kraus, Office of the Registrar
Kathleen Lanese, physical education and athletics
Marie Lathers, modern languages and literature
Eugene Matthews, Facilities Services
Vince McHale, political science
Kelly McMann, political science
Jacqueline Nanfito, modern languages and literature
Kyra Rothenberg, communication sciences
Rebecca Schaller, Housing, Residence Life and Greek Life
Anirban Sen Gupta, biomedical engineering
Crystal Sutton, Student Activities & Leadership
Lee Thompson, psychological sciences