Nominate faculty members for 2014 Frank and Dorothy Humel Hovorka Prize

Nominations are being accepted for the 2014 Frank and Dorothy Humel Hovorka Prize, to be presented at commencement exercises in May.

The prize was established in 1994 by Dorothy Hovorka to recognize exceptional achievement by an active or emeritus member of the faculty. Her intention in creating this award is captured in the following statement:

Among the factors that determine the stature of a university’s contributions to society, none exerts so great a force as the strength of its faculty.  For this reason, Case Western Reserve University annually awards the Frank and Dorothy Humel Hovorka Prize to recognize a faculty member whose exceptional achievements in teaching, research, and scholarly service have benefited the community, the nation, and the world.

Dorothy Hovorka is a leader in the arts and community affairs and an honorary member of the university’s Board of Trustees. Her late husband, Frank, was for many years a distinguished member of the faculty in the Department of Chemistry.

Nominations should be submitted by email to Lois Langell at no later than March 22.  A two- to three-page nomination letter, along with the nominee’s CV or other biographical description, is sufficient. Nominations remain active for two years. The recipient is selected on the recommendation of a committee consisting of previous recipients.