Nominations being accepted for the 2013 Frank and Dorothy Humel Hovorka Prize

Nominations for the 2013 Frank and Dorothy Humel Hovorka Prize, to be presented at commencement exercises in May, are now being accepted.

The prize was established in 1994 by Dorothy Humel Hovorka to recognize exceptional achievement by an active or emeritus member of the faculty. Her intention in creating this award is captured in the following statement:

“Among the factors that determine the stature of a university’s contributions to society, none exerts so great a force as the strength of its faculty. For this reason, Case Western Reserve University annually awards the Frank and Dorothy Humel Hovorka Prize to recognize a faculty member whose exceptional achievements in teaching, research and scholarly service have benefited the community, the nation and the world.”

Dorothy Humel Hovorka is a leader in the arts and community affairs and an honorary member of the university’s board of trustees. Her late husband, Frank Hovorka, was a distinguished member of the faculty in the Department of Chemistry.

Previous recipients of the Hovorka Prize are:

Frederick C. Robbins     May L. Wykle
Ernest B. Yeager     Mihajlo D. Mesarovic
Marie R. Haug     Amasa B. Ford
David D. Van Tassel     John H. Kennell
Eric Baer     Nathan A. Berger
Arthur Steinberg     Arthur H. Heuer
Cynthia M. Beall     P. Hunter Peckham
Richard Hanson     Robert Binstock
Herman D. Stein     John Angus
Simon Ostrach     Melvyn Goldstein

Nominations should be submitted to no later than March 22.  A two- to three-page nomination letter, along with the nominee’s curriculum vitae or other biographical description, should be included. Nominations remain active for two years. The recipient is selected on the recommendation of a committee consisting of previous recipients.