illustration of a yellow trophy cup with a white star

Nominate a staff member for the President’s Award for Distinguished Service by April 30

President Barbara R. Snyder invites the campus community to nominate a non-faculty CWRU staff member for the President’s Award for Distinguished Service. This annual award honors up to three staff members whose outstanding contributions to our campus community have a transformational effect on university colleagues, students or visitors.

Nominations may come from any university student or staff or faculty member (self-nominations are not accepted). The Staff Advisory Council Staff Recognition Committee will receive and review nomination materials and share them with the Office of the President. The honoree(s) will receive a $1,000 cash award. The recipient(s) will be recognized at the Staff Service Awards Luncheon in June.

Nominations are due by April 30 and can be submitted through an online form.

Questions can be directed to the co-chairs of the Staff Recognition Committee: Paul Keeley or Elise Geither

About the award

The President’s Award for Distinguished Service was created in honor of Roseanne Shaerban, a university employee whose qualities and commitment set a standard for distinguished service.

Roseanne Shaerban (May 9, 1958—Feb. 6, 1989) was a friendly and familiar face at CWRU. Her family, friends and co-workers remember her for the care, concern, loyalty and support she demonstrated to the university community. Shaerban was feisty, creative and exceptionally generous in her willingness to help others in need.