Nominate a speaker for 2014 commencement

The Commencement Speaker Selection Committee is surveying the campus community for commencement 2014 speaker nominations. The committee considers the following criteria when selecting candidates:

  • High degree of name recognition among students
  • Notable achievements in academic, artistic, humanitarian, environmental and/or other enterprises, for which the candidates may merit an honorary degree
  • Can serve as a role model for students
  • May have connections to Case Western Reserve University or Cleveland
  • Strong public speaking skills

Recent commencement speakers at Case Western Reserve University include: Peter B. Lewis (2013), Paul Buchheit (2012), Scott Cowen (2011), Katie Couric (2010), David Satcher (2009), Craig Newmark (2008), Richard Lederer (2007), Julie Gerberding (2006), Chris Matthews (2005), Elie Weisel (2004), Geraldine Ferraro (2003), Maya Angelou (2002), Jonathan Kozol (2001) and Joseph Gorman (2000).

Make a nomination online.