Mandel School’s Megan Holmes elected Society for Social Work and Research 2024 Fellow

Megan Holmes, professor and co-director of the Center on Trauma and Adversity at the Jack, Joseph and Morton Mandel School of Applied Social Sciences, was elected a 2024 Fellow of the Society for Social Work and Research (SSWR). SSWR Fellows are members of the society who have served with distinction to advance, disseminate, and translate research that addresses issues of social work practice and policy, and promotes a diverse, equitable and just society.

The SSWR Fellowship was established by the society to honor and recognize current members for their individual accomplishments, leadership and contributions to SSWR as a scientific society. It is anticipated that the fellows will serve as role models and mentors for individuals pursuing careers in social work research and will continue to actively advance the mission of the society.

Eligibility for the SSWR Fellow designation is limited and determined by a point system established by the Board of Directors. Holmes was one of 27 Fellows this year—the number of inductees was approximately 1% of the membership. SSWR Fellows maintain their status as long as they are current members of the society.

Other Mandel School SSWR Fellows include Nancy Rolock and Dexter Voisin in 2023, Claudia Coulton in 2017, and David Biegel and Elizabeth Tracy in 2016.

The 2024 Fellows were announced by SSWR President Sean Joe at the annual conference during the Fellows and Awards Presentations Jan. 13 in Washington, D.C.