Mandel School’s end-of-year award winners announced

The Jack, Joseph and Morton Mandel School of Applied Social Sciences recognized graduates and faculty for various accomplishments. The following awardees were honored in 2020.

Irene Sogg Gross Award

The Irene Sogg Gross Award was established by Mr. Milton Gross to honor the memory of his wife, Irene Sogg, a Mandel School graduate in the class of 1940. The award is given to a member of the graduating class, chosen by their peers, in recognition of outstanding interest and accomplishments in the areas of humanitarian service.

Lindsay Gopinath

Dean’s Award for Outstanding Student Achievement

The Mandel School Dean’s Award for Outstanding Student Achievement is presented to a graduate whom faculty feel exhibits academic achievement, exceptional service to the school, and exemplary performance in field education.

Brittany Rabb

Outstanding Field Instructor Award

Each year, we have the opportunity to recognize one individual as an outstanding field instructor. Field instructors are the social workers in the agencies who work without extra pay to help students develop their professional skills, apply the classroom theory to the realities of today’s service delivery challenges, and develop their identities as professional social workers. They do it because they are committed to students and the future of the profession.

Larry Bresler

Outstanding Teacher Awards 

The Outstanding Teacher Awards honor Emeritus Professor Dr. John A. Yankey, who was nominated a record number of times as “Outstanding Teacher” in both the MSSA and MNO degree programs for his ability to enlighten, motivate and inspire. This award is a testimony to the tremendous talent and commitment of each one of our faculty members at the Mandel School.  

The John A. Yankey Outstanding Teacher Award for Part-Time Teaching

Janus Small

The John A. Yankey Outstanding Teacher Award for Full-Time Teaching

Kathleen Farkas and David Miller

The John A. Yankey Outstanding Teacher of the Year Award for the MNO Program

The John A. Yankey Outstanding Teacher of the Year Award for the Master of Nonprofit Organizations (MNO) Program is presented to an instructor who demonstrates dedication to the development of students in the MNO program and their educational experience at the Mandel School.

Jennifer Madden

The Mandel School Advocate for Human Rights Award

Suzanne Elise Walsh (SAS ‘94; LAW ‘97)