James R. Rowbottom appointed department chair at School of Medicine, University Hospitals Case Medical Center

James R. RowbottomJames R. Rowbottom, associate professor of anesthesiology and perioperative medicine, was appointed chairman of the Department of Anesthesiology and Perioperative Medicine at University Hospitals Case Medical Center and Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine. He had been the interim chairman of the department since July of last year.

Rowbottom has been part of the UH and School of Medicine community since 1995.

“Dr. Rowbottom is an accomplished anesthesiologist, leader and mentor,” said Pamela Davis, dean of the School of Medicine. “He is dedicated to constant improvement—not only in the knowledge and techniques of his field, but also the technology involved in serving patients.”

Rowbottom has been involved with several research and innovative educational and administrative programs during his career. They include work with Case Western Reserve University biomedical engineering students designing and building a prototype medical device to continuously detect endotracheal tube position and airway swelling while a patient is intubated in order to prevent injury; ongoing projects designed to improve accuracy, efficiency and communication of perioperative personnel assignment; a fellowship in perioperative medicine and administration to develop future leaders in perioperative care and perioperative management; and a resident rotation in cooperation with general medicine to focus on the medical aspects of surgical patient care during an intern’s medicine rotation months.

“Dr. Rowbottom is an outstanding and highly respected clinician, researcher and educator,” said Fred C. Rothstein, president of UH Case Medical Center, “who has shown the managerial and clinical skills necessary to maintain and advance our department as a leader in the field.”

He is active in numerous professional organizations, including the American Society of Anesthesiologists, American Society of Critical Care Anesthesiologists and the American College of Physician Executives. He is also president-elect of the Association of Anesthesia Clinical Directors. Additionally, he serves on several UH clinical management, quality and safety committees.