Football team breaks through banner at start of game

Homecoming football game

The Case Western Reserve University football team will play host to Thiel College Saturday, Oct. 15, at 1 p.m. as a part of the homecoming weekend festivities.  In recent years, homecoming has been a boost for the Spartans on the field, with the team winning its homecoming game in seven of the last nine years, including a stretch of five-straight homecoming wins from 2007 through 2011.

The majority of the Spartans’ recent wins on homecoming have been one-sided, with six of the seven victories over the last nine years being decided by at least two touchdowns, including a 63-14 win over Hiram Oct. 24, 2009, marking the second-most points scored in a game in CWRU history, and a 45-14 over Waynesburg University last season.

The one close homecoming victory for CWRU in the last decade was a thrilling 24-23 win over Allegheny in 2010 that was decided by a blocked kick in overtime by former Spartan Jacob Adams. The overtime victory extended the Spartans’ stretch of consecutive regular season wins to 35, a streak that eventually reached 38 games, the longest in the program’s history.

Adding to this year’s homecoming festivities for CWRU athletics will be the induction of seven new members to the Spartan Club Hall of Fame. This year’s inductees will be:

  • Tennis player James Drougas (CWR ’84)
  • Swimmer Lisa Gieseker Gozal (CWR ’03);
  • Football player Eli Grant (CWRU ’04);
  • Baseball and football player Ken Holloway (CWR ’92);
  • Wrestler Andres Molina (CWR ’01);
  • Heritage Inductee and tennis and soccer player Emil Bereczky (CIT ’57); and
  • Special Category Inductee James Wyant (CIT ’65).

The seven will join the 353 members previously enshrined since the club’s inception in 1975.

In addition, the Case Western Reserve University men’s tennis teams from 1972-79 will be recognized with the University Award for Athletic Excellence as a part of the Hall of Fame ceremony.

The seven Hall of Fame inductees will be recognized at halftime of the football game, with the induction ceremony scheduled for 5:30 p.m. Saturday, Oct. 15, in the Tinkham Veale University Center ballroom. Individual tickets to the event are available for purchase at