Former Wittke Award winners to guest-host next UCITE session

The University Center for Innovation in Teaching and Education will hold a session with the four most recent Carl F. Wittke Award winners, who will share some of the ideas they put into action in their classrooms.

The guest hosts will be:

  • Katia Almeida, instructor of anthropology;
  • Rebecca Benard, instructor of biology;
  • Lisa Neilson, SAGES instructor; and
  • Colin Drummond, professor and assistant chair in the department of biomedical engineering.

The Carl F. Wittke Award was established in 1971 in honor of Carl Wittke, a former faculty member, dean and vice president of Western Reserve University. The Wittke Award is presented each year to two Case Western Reserve University faculty members who have demonstrated excellence in undergraduate teaching.

The session will be held Thursday, Jan. 28, from noon to 1 p.m. in the Allen Memorial Medical Library’s Herrick Room (use Adelbert Road doors).

Pizza and sodas will be provided at this session. RSVP to