The Inamori Ethics Prize celebrates and illustrates ethical leadership in all its forms, across a range of human endeavors. All graduate, professional and undergraduate students at Case Western Reserve University—including those studying abroad—as well as northeast Ohio high school students can enter an essay contest in celebration of the 10th anniversary of the prize.

Each category of essays (high school, undergraduate and graduate/professional) will have two awards available: $500 for first place and $250 for second place.

Winners will be notified by Tuesday, Sept. 11. Winners also will be mentioned during the Inamori Ethics Prize ceremony and recipient lecture with Farouk El-Baz Wednesday, Sept. 13, and on the Inamori International Center for Ethics and Excellence website and newsletter.

Essay details

Contestants should select a recipient of the Inamori Ethics Prize and explain how and why their ethical leadership is inspiring.

Recipients of the award are:

  • 2018: Farouk El-Baz
  • 2017: Marian Wright Edelman
  • 2016: Peter Eigen
  • 2015: Martha C. Nussbaum
  • 2014: Denis Mukwege
  • 2013: Yvon Choiunard
  • 2012: David Suzuki
  • 2011: Beatrice Mtetwa
  • 2010: Stan Brock
  • 2009: Mary Robinson
  • 2008: Francis S. Collins

Essays must be:

  • No longer than 1,000 total words;
  • Typed in 12-point font; and
  • Double-spaced with 1-inch margins and numbered pages.

Title and reference pages are not included in the numbering. On the title page, include contact information, school and program of study.

Papers should be submitted to Laura Mekhail at by Tuesday, Sept. 4.

For more information, email, call 216.368.0986 or visit the Inamori International Center for Ethics and Excellence current research page.