headshot of CWRU emeritus professor Barry Miller

Emeritus Chemistry Professor Barry Miller earns prestigious award from Electrochemical Society

headshot of CWRU emeritus professor Barry MillerBarry Miller, the Frank Hovorka Professor Emeritus of Chemistry, recently received the Edward Goodrich Acheson Award from the Electrochemical Society.

The award is presented to one person every two years for “conspicuous contribution to the advancement of the objectives, purposes and activities of the society.”

Miller served as president of the Electrochemical Society Inc. from 1997 to 1998 and as editor of The Journal of the Electrochemical Society from 1990 to 1995. He was a member of the ECS Board of Directors for six years, chairman of the Physical Electrochemistry Division for two, a member of many committees, and co-organizer of various symposia in the ECS.

Outside of ECS, he served as president of the Society for Electroanalytical Chemistry, chairman of the Gordon Conference on Electrochemistry, associate member of the IUPAC Commission of Electrochemistry and national secretary of the International Society of Electrochemistry. In addition, he has been a member of U.S. government panels, including the Panel on the U.S. Advanced Battery Consortium of the National Research Council and the Cold Fusion Panel of the Department of Energy.

Miller is a graduate of Princeton University and received his PhD in chemistry from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He came to Case Western Reserve in 1993 after teaching at Harvard University and then working on the technical staff of AT&T Bell laboratories for more than 30 years. He retired in 2000 and since has held the title as emeritus professor.

Among his previous recognitions are the David C. Grahame Award in Physical Electrochemistry from the ECS Division, the Charles N. Reilley Award from the Society of Electroanalytical Chemistry, and the Ernest B. Yeager Award of the Cleveland Section of the ECS, and being named a fellow of the Electrochemical Society and an honorary member of the ECS.