award ribbon icon

Engineering’s Eric Baer awarded American Chemical Society’s highest honor

The American Chemical Society, Rubber Division selected Distinguished University Professor Eric Baer, who also is the Herbert Henry Dow Professor of Science and Engineering and director of the Center for Layered Polymeric Systems, for its highest honor: the 2018 Charles Goodyear Medal.

The division established the award in 1941 for scientists and engineers who have made significant contributions or changes to the rubber industry through an invention, innovation or development.

In selecting Baer, the award committee noted his contributions to understanding elastomeric polyolefins, work with rubber toughening of brittle polymers and founding of Case Western Reserve University’s Department of Macromolecular Science and Engineering.

Past recipients of the Charles Goodyear Medal include Paul J. Flory, pioneer in the physical chemistry of macromolecules and Nobel Laureate, and Herman F. Mark, known as the “father of polymer science.”

The award will be presented at the 193rd ACS Spring Technical Meeting in May in Indianapolis.