Faceless young female browsing smartphone while typing on laptop
Unrecognizable woman surfing mobile phone while entering data on computer. Cybersecurity awareness and data managment in digitally-connected world. 2fa verification and authentication

Consult Compliance Office before engaging with Russia and Belarus

The U.S. government has imposed new economic sanctions and export controls on Russia and Belarus. These sanctions are evolving.

Russian and Belarus join other embargoed and sanctioned countries including Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Syria and Crimea Region of the Ukraine.

Because these U.S. export control regulations are complex and violations may result in severe financial penalties, those at Case Western Reserve University must consult with the CWRU Compliance Office, which leads the university in export control compliance, under the following circumstances:

  • Traveling on behalf of Case Western Reserve University (regardless of nationality or passport used);
  • Wishing to participate in academic collaborations;
  • Providing a service;
  • Engaging with any persons or entities within those countries;
  • Attending a conference (in person or online); and/or
  • Exchanging research materials, data or equipment.

For questions, email exportcontrol@case.edu or visit the University Compliance Program website for more information.