Paper and pen icon

Consult Compliance Office before engaging with embargoed and sanctioned countries

Did you know that the U.S. Department of Treasury, Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) restricts transactions with embargoed and sanctioned countries, including certain academic collaborations and exchange of research materials and equipment?

The most comprehensive controls apply to Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Syria and Crimea Region of the Ukraine.

Travel to these areas, as well as research-related activity and academic collaborations (whether funded or unfunded), is tightly regulated and generally requires an OFAC export license.

International collaboration is a very important part of research in universities.

Because these OFAC regulations are complex and violations may result in severe financial penalties, those at Case Western Reserve University must consult with the CWRU Compliance Office, which leads the university in export control compliance, under the following circumstances:

  • Traveling on behalf of Case Western Reserve University (regardless of nationality or passport used);
  • Wishing to participate in academic collaborations;
  • Providing a service;
  • Engaging with any persons or entities within those countries;
  • Attending a conference (in person or online); and/or 
  • Exchanging research materials, data or equipment.

Please contact us at if you need more information or have specific questions. Or, visit the University Compliance Program website for more information.