Campus Student Employee of the Year announced

Catherine Osborn with Jim Edmonson as she accepts the Student Employee of the Year Award
Catherine Osborn accepts the Student Employee of the Year Award. She was nominated by her supervisor, James Edmonson (pictured).

Catherine Osborn, a research assistant and guest curator for the Dittrick Museum of Medical History, was selected at as Campus Student Employee of the Year.

Osborn assists the chief curator and museum staff in creation of public museum exhibitions and exhibit concept and planning. She played a pivotal role in the exhibit of “Re-conceiving Birth: Childbirth in America, 1840-1940,” which tells a comprehensive story of how birth was completely transformed in that century.

When describing the impact of her work, her supervisor, James Edmonson, writes “Her exhibition is a compelling transformation of the museum’s mission, and it is transformative in that it appeals to all museum attendees, regardless of their professional background.”

The award was offered through the Office of Student Employment in honor of National Student Employee Appreciation Week, which was held April 10-16. A total of 17 nominations were received across the campus, and 2856 nominations were received across the U.S. from participating colleges and universities. The other nominees were: Tyler Adams, Ben Allen, Katelyn Friedl, Michael Nguyen, Holly Chen, Masato Miyagi, Galilea Sanchez, David Bacisin, Chakira Janine Smith, Abigail Whited, Harleen Grewal, Eric Richardson, Noah Burke, Umit Levent Eroll, Anna Pimentel and Bianca Jenkins.

The nominations submitted highlighted student employees based on: attributes, expectations, leadership/style and impact. The nominations prove the importance of student employment and its profound impact on the students’ higher education experience and the departments for which they work.

The following campus community members volunteered as readers for the nominations:

  • Shirley Mosely, associate dean of students and special assistant to the vice president for student affairs;
  • Sheila Pedigo, director of SOURCE (Support of Undergraduate Research and Creative Endeavors);
  • Fey Parrill, associate professor of cognitive science;
  • David Mansbach, human resources administrator for pediatrics at University Hospitals; and
  • Nancy Issa, senior associate director of university financial aid.