Apply for Arnaud Gelb Journalism Awards and Internship Grants for chance to win prize money and internship funding

Undergraduate students are invited to apply for the third annual Arnaud Gelb Journalism Awards and Internship Grants, featuring up to $2,000 in prize money and internship funding. The prize recognizes the best in Case Western Reserve University student journalism and also provides grants to defray costs for students working in unpaid journalism internships.

Those interested in applying can submit works in the following categories:

  • Any nonfiction news or feature story under 500 words (no personal essays);
  • Any nonfiction news or feature story more than 500 words (no personal essays); and
  • Any nonfiction news or feature story about sports (any length).

Students can only make one submission per category. Previously published stories and unpublished classwork are both acceptable.

The application is open to all current CWRU undergraduate students.

Email files to

The deadline for entries is Monday, March 18, at noon.

For information on applying for internship funding, contact Professor Jim Sheeler in Guilford Hall, Room 311, or email

About Arnaud Gelb

Born and raised in France, Arnaud Gelb grew up with a passion for sports. He moved to the United States and earned an MBA from the Weatherhead School of Management—where he met his wife, Kelly Buchanan-Gelb, and graduated in 2010.

Gelb worked as a sports reporter focusing on basketball and most recently as a correspondent for, the largest French basketball news site.

Gelb died unexpectedly in 2016 at 31 years old. His wife established this fund in his name to honor his passion for sports journalism and to provide “an opportunity to honor my husband at the school where we met, to keep his memory alive, and perhaps inspire someone to pursue a career in journalism themselves.”

To contribute to the Arnaud Gelb fund, go to the secure Department of English giving link at and in the “special instructions” section, type “Arnaud Gelb Journalism Awards.”