Andrew Thompson wins 2022 Dean Dunmore Moot Court Competition

Andrew Thompson emerged as the winner of the Case Western Reserve University School of Law Dean Dunmore Moot Court Competition, an intramural appellate-advocacy tournament, in which students in the Appellate Practice class compete in an NCAA bracket-style competition judged by faculty members, judges and experienced practitioners.

The competition began with 16 students. Two weeks and six rounds later, Thompson and Matthew Borcas argued in the final round before Judges Theodore McKee and Thomas Vanaskie (retired) of the United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit and Judge Kenneth Ripple of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit. In a close match, the judges voted Thompson the winner.

In addition to making it to the finals, Borcas won the Best Brief Award and the Dean Dunmore Award for earning the best combined brief and oral scores. Vincent Jones won the Best Oral Advocate Award.

The students were guided by their Appellate Practice Adjunct Professors Chris Grostic and Betsy Rader. Students on the Moot Court Board—Ali Nourani-Dargiri, John Schon, Megan Moro and Clare Soria—administered the competition. Professor Andrew Pollis supervised the Appellate Practice curriculum and the competition.

The competition is named for Walter Thomas Dunmore, who became the first full-time member of the law faculty in 1905 and served as dean of the School of Law for a record 35 years—from 1910 to 1945.