Workshop series to help faculty and graduate students plan for future

Kelvin Smith Library will offer a series of workshops to support faculty as they prepare for the promotion and tenure process and graduate students as they prepare for publication or employment.

The workshop series, “Managing Your Scholarly Reputation: A University Libraries Workshop Series,” will help faculty and graduate students navigate the evolving publishing landscape, including copyright law, marketing research, online presence and negotiating publishing contracts.

Each session will be offered twice for both faculty and graduate students and can be taken independently of each other.

Faculty sessions

  • “Marketing Your Scholarship and Yourself,” Tuesday, Sept. 25, from 1 to 2 p.m. or Wednesday, Sept. 26, from 4 to 5 p.m.
  • “Measuring Your Scholarly Impact,” Tuesday, Oct. 9, from 1 to 2 p.m. or Wednesday, Oct. 10, from 4 to 5 p.m.
  • “Where to Publish,” Tuesday, Oct. 23, from 1 to 2 p.m. or Wednesday, Oct 24., from 4 to 5 p.m.
  • “Engaging with Digital Scholarship,” Tuesday, Nov 6., from 1 to 2 p.m. or Wednesday, Nov. 7, from 4 to 5 p.m.
  • “Leveraging Your Rights as an Author: Copyright and Scholarly Publishing,” Tuesday, Nov. 13, from 1 to 2 p.m. or Wednesday, Nov. 14, from 4 to 5 p.m.

Register for the faculty workshop series.

Graduate student sessions

  • “Marketing Your Scholarship and Yourself,” Tuesday, Sept. 18, from 4 to 5 p.m. or Friday, Sept. 21, 1 to 2 p.m.
  • “Measuring Your Scholarly Impact,” Tuesday, Oct. 2, from 4 to 5 p.m. or Friday, Oct. 5, from 1 to 2 p.m.
  • “Where to Publish,” Tuesday, Oct. 16, from 4 to 5 p.m. or Friday, Oct. 19, from 1 to 2 p.m.
  • “Engaging with Digital Scholarship,” Tuesday, Nov. 6, 4 to 5 p.m. or Friday, Nov. 9, from 1 to 2 p.m.
  • “Leveraging Your Rights as an Author: Copyright and Scholarly Publishing,” Tuesday, Nov. 13, from 4 to 5 p.m. or Friday, Nov. 16, from 1 to 2 p.m.

Register for the graduate student workshop series.

Contact ksl-mail@case.edu or 216.368.2992 with questions. For more information on other library events, join the Kelvin Smith Library CampusGroups page.